NYTB's Concert Series

NYTB's Concert Series


romances without words:
The complete works for cello and piano
by Gabriel Fauré

Amy Kang, cello & Michael Scales, piano
featuring members of New York Theatre Ballet


Élégie op. 24
Romance op. 69
Papillon op. 77
Sicilienne op. 78
Sérénade op. 98
Sonatas for cello and piano op. 109 and op. 117

Fauré's rarely performed cello and piano works provide a unique cross-section of the composer's shift in style over his lifetime, from the romantic early works to the modernist tonalities of the later works. From aching and explosive to tranquil and sparse, cellist Amy Kang and pianist Michael Scales present these works in their entirety, with dancers from New York Theatre Ballet lending visual drama in a concert/performance piece hybrid.  

NYTB's concert series are informal programs presented in-house and curated by New York Theatre Ballet's music director and pianist, Michael Scales.

Photo by Rachel Neville.


June 24: 8pm

Tickets are a suggested donation of $15 available at the door.

< Back to Calendar & Tickets